Frequently Asked Questions

About the school

 

What criteria are used to evaluate applications to SMTB?

Our admission committee carefully evaluates all aspects of the applications the we receive. Individual experts of the committee use their own reasoning when evaluating an application. At the final meeting the admission committee discusses all applications focusing on applications that have received different marks by experts. Therefore, the admission committee does not use formalized criteria and the decision to accept a student represents the consensus among all of the committee members. The admission committee does not discriminate based on any features of the applicant, explicit or implied.


Why was my application, or the application of my child or student, rejected?

Each year we receive many more applications than we can possibly accept. We are certain, that many students that have not been accepted would have made a wonderful participant of SMTB and could end up being an active research scientists. Our selection criteria are focused on the evaluation of the application materials that we receive without making a value judgement of the individual behind the application. Therefore, we ask all applicants not to take the rejection of their application as a judgement of their talents or abilities. We hope that our decision will not adversely impact anyone’s interest in science and are looking forward to receiving the applications of those students that could participate in the competition the next year.


I do not speak Russian - will that prevent me from participating?

The school is fully bilingual to the extent any educational activity can be made in such a manner. All labs include bilingual faculty, teaching in English and Russian, and are always on hand to translate. A few courses are taught only in one of the two languages, however, in such instances alternatives in the other language are always available. Non russian-speaking students regularly participate in SMTB and even a total absence of any knowledge of Russian does not prevent the full emersion of an English-speaking student into our programme.


I am currently only in 8th grade, can I submit an application?

Yes, but in such instances we ask you to address why you believe you will be able to keep up in a research program that is designed for students a few years older than you. It is also likely that the admission committee will request an additional phone interview.


I am a first year student at the University, can I submit an application?

No. Unfortunately, our programme is for high school students.


I finished school but I am not studying at the University, can I submit an application?

Yes, but in the application please describe the circumstances why you have not yet enrolled at a university.


Can I participate in SMTB as a team leader or member of the faculty?

We would be happy to receive your CV and a short description of your interest in SMTB by email at molbioschool@gmail.com.


Will my knowledge be enough to participate in SMTB?

A motivated and dedicated student should be able to keep up even without an extensive background in biology, learning the necessary background in parallel to working on a research project. Specifically, we welcome applications from students that have previously been focusing on the study of chemistry, physics or mathematics. However, we advise all students to familiarise themselves with the basic principles of molecular and cell biology prior to the start of the schoo. A list of recommended reading will be distributed to the accepted students.


I am not sure I will be able to participate in August, can I still submit an application?

We ask all applicants to be reasonably certain that they will be able to participate in the school when submitting their application. Furthermore, if you are accepted, we hope that you and your parents will make an effort to ensure your participation. Accepted students that change their minds about coming to the school, especially at the last minute, translate to considerable loss of resources for us and prevent other students from participating.


What is the cost of tuition at SMTB? What may be some other costs associated with participating in SMTB?

One of the founding principles of SMTB is that the financial status of the student's family does not influence admission or participation of any student accepted through the primary call. SMTB fully covers tuition, room and board and other research-associated costs. In 2016 we will organize and pay for travel of students from Moscow to Barcelona. We ask for parents to cover the costs for the visa application the travel to the city with the nearest visa application center and the travel to Moscow for the school-sponsored trip to Barcelona. However, we will consider requests for financial assistance with the aforementioned costs on a case by case basis. We ask students that may require such assistance to indicate their request in the corresponding section of the application. Financial status should in no way influence the decision of any student to send their application. We will do what we can to guarantee the participation of all accepted students.


School programme

 

Is there free time at the school?

Most of their time the students spend working on a research project in a laboratory. All students have some free time after dinner, which may be used to visit our studios or as personal free time. Furthermore, after the start of the research projects the students will enjoy one day of rest with plenty of free time.


Which labs will be present at the school this year?

Every year we have some new laboratories at the school. However, due to the drastic changes in the last year surrounding the Dynasty Foundation and our school in 2015 we are finalizing the list of laboratories later than usual. It is likely, that in 2016 there will be about 10 laboratories, including experimental and theoretical ones.


How can I select the laboratory that I want to join?

Students select the laboratory that they want to join in the first few days at the school. We adhere to the principles of having the students make an informed choice. This means that the students select laboratories that they liked after rotations in different labs, where they have a chance to learn about the proposed research and interact directly with the faculty. Furthermore, the students fill out their requests to join specific laboratories together with their adviser, who may help the student in making the choice.


Safety

 

Is it safe to participate in SMTB?

The faculty and team leaders of SMTB are experienced educators that work hard towards creating a safe, comfortable and accepting environment for all participants. Students are organized into teams of 8-10 individuals under the guidance of 2-3 team leaders. Laboratories are supervised by active research scientists that require all participants to strictly follow all laboratory safety guidelines. Overall, the school enjoys a one to one student to faculty ratio, which in 2016 will include team leaders and monitors accredited by the Catalan Government for working and organizing summer programs. Barcelona is one of the safest cities in the world with a very low rate of violent crime. The only potential concern is the high rate of pocket theft, which in part is due to the high inflow of well-off tourists. We advise all students not to carry around their passports or large sums of money, with foreign students preferably giving passport to the SMTB staff for safekeeping.


Will someone meet my student in Moscow (Barcelona)?

Yes, SMTB staff will meet all students at their port of arrival in Moscow, or Barcelona, for those students not traveling from Russia.


Who will supervise the student during the school?

We have an about one to one student to faculty ratio so that students are rarely doing something without the participation of at least one adult. We pay special attention to safety protocols while students are working in the laboratory and all students must follow rules of behaviour at all other times. Students and their team leaders, as well as most research faculty members reside in the same building, which in turn is supervised by the hostel personnel.


Whom can I contact with questions about the school?

You can write us an email at molbioschool@gmail.com with any questions. Urgent issues can be addressed to our scientific director, Fyodor Kondrashov, at +34-618-164-237.


Where will the students live?

All students, and most of the faculty, live in one of the student housing buildings of the University of Pompeu Fabra.


What do the students eat during the school?

Meals will be organized in one of the cafeterias of the UPF. In addition to the three main meals students will have access to fruit and other snacks.


Where will the teaching take place?

SMTB will be taking place on the territory of the Barcelona Biomedical Research Park (PRBB, www.prbb.org), the Centre for Genomic Regulation (CRG, www.crg.eu) and the University of Pompeu Fabra (UPF, www.upf.edu).


What if I need to contact my child?

We ask parents not to needlessly interrupt students in the course of their work in the labs or their studies during courses. As a rule, students have free time in the evening, which can be used to chat by Skype over the internet. In instances, when you urgently need to reach your son or daughter you can contact the Scientific Director, Fyodor Kondrashov, at +34-618-164-237.


General questions

 

How can I apply for a visa to Spain?

To obtain a visa to Spain, the Schengen visa, Russian citizens need to have a passport that is valid for foreign travel with an expiration date no later than March 2017. The students are not required to hold a travel passport or visa when applying and not having these documents in no way will affect the evaluation of the application. Our staff will contact the accepted students and provide the necessary documents for the visa application. If you already have a Schengen visa, please make sure that it is valid including 31th of August.


Are there any documents that I need to fill out before arriving at the school?

The necessary documentation will be sent to all accepted students. They will be related to issues of obtaining a visa, health certification, insurance and official acceptance to SMTB.


What should I bring with me to the school?

A list of recommended things to bring with you will be sent to all accepted students.

Вопросы / ответы

Участие в школе

 

По каким критериям происходит отбор на Школу?

Все заявки всесторонне оцениваются приёмной комиссией. При этом разные эксперты могут руководствоваться собственными соображениями при оценке каждой заявки, и все разногласия между ними обсуждаются всей приёмной комиссией на заключительном собрании. В конечном итоге, приёмная комиссия не руководствуется формальными критериями, и решение о зачислении на школу каждого школьника является консенсусом мнения всех экспертов. Приёмная комиссия не дискриминирует ни по какому явному или косвенному признаку заявителя.


Почему меня (моего ребёнка/ученика) не взяли на Школу?

Как правило, на участие в ШМТБ подают заявки больше школьников, чем у нас есть возможность принять. Мы убеждены, что многие из школьников, не прошедших отбор, могли бы стать замечательными участниками, а впоследствии могут стать сильными исследователями. Наша система отбора оценивает заявку целиком и ни коим образом не оценивает самого заявителя, и принятые заявки понравились приёмной комиссии больше, чем остальные. Поэтому мы просим всех участников, не воспринимать отказ о зачислении, как оценку способностей или одаренности самого школьника. Мы надеемся, что наше решение не отразится отрицательно на интересе к науке, и что в следующем году мы получим заявки от тех школьников, которые смогут участвовать в конкурсе ещё раз.


Я не говорю по-английски - является ли это проблемой для участия в Школе?

Даже полное отсутствие английского языка не может принципиально повлиять на возможность участвовать в ШМТБ. В каждой лаборатории есть двуязычные сотрудники, которые помогают с переводом. Некоторые лекции и курсы читаются только на английском языке, но в таких случаях всегда доступна альтернатива на русском. Незнание русского языка также не влияет на возможность участия, и каждый год в ШМТБ участвует небольшое количество школьников, не говорящих по-русски.


Я учусь в 8 классе, могу ли я подать заявку на Школу?

Да, но в таких случаях, мы просим описать в заявке почему, по Вашему мнению, Вы справитесь с программой, рассчитанной на старшеклассников. Возможно, что приёмная комиссия проведёт дополнительное собеседование по телефону.


Я учусь на первом курсе, могу ли я подать заявку?

К сожалению, нет. Школа предназначена только для школьников.


Я закончил школу, но не поступил в ВУЗ, могу ли я подать заявку?

Да, мы рассмотрим Вашу заявку, но в таких случаях, мы просим описать обстоятельства, из-за которых Вы еще не учитесь в университете.


Я хочу быть вожатым или сотрудником Школы, к кому я могу обратиться?

Мы рады, что Вас интересует возможность участия на ШМТБ. Пожалуйста, отправьте нам на адрес Школы (molbioschool@gmail.com) свой CV, или описание релевантного опыта и причины, по которой Вам бы хотелось работать в ШМТБ.


Хватит ли моей подготовки для участия в биологической Школе?

Мотивированный и способный школьник сможет участвовать в ШМТБ даже без глубоких знаний биологии, так как многое, из необходимых знаний можно получить в процессе участия. Мы приветствуем заявки от школьников, которые раньше интересовались преимущественно химией, физикой или математикой. Тем не менее, мы советуем всем школьникам ознакомиться с основными принципами молекулярной и клеточной биологии до приезда на ШМТБ. Список рекомендуемой литературы мы вышлем всем школьникам, прошедшим отбор.


Я не уверен, смогу ли я в августе участвовать в Школе - могу ли я подать заявку?

Мы просим всех школьников, подавших заявку на Школу иметь разумную возможность участвовать в указанные сроки. Мы надеемся, что школьники, принятые на ШМТБ, и их родители приложат все усилия для того, чтобы обеспечить полноценное участие и избежать лишней траты ресурсов с нашей стороны. Отказ принятых школьников приехать на Школу, особенно в последний момент, означает, что другие кандидаты уже не смогут принять участие.


Сколько стоит участие в ШМТБ? Какие могут быть затраты, ассоциированные с участием в ШМТБ?

Один из основных принципов ШМТБ заключается в том, что финансовое положение семьи не должно влиять на возможность участия любого школьника, прошедшего основной отбор. Школа покрывает все расходы для всех школьников на время самой Школы, включая проживание, питание и расходы, связанные с учёбой. В 2016 году мы централизованно организуем перелет Москва-Барселона за счёт ШМТБ. По возможности, мы просим родителей оплатить визовый сбор и другие возможные расходы, связанные с получением визы, а также приезд в Москву. Однако, при необходимости, ШМТБ поможет оплатить все расходы, связанные с получением визы, в том числе, поездку в другой город для подачи документов, а также при отсутствии возможности оплатить приезд в Москву, мы частично или полностью возместим дорожные расходы. Мы просим школьников, которым может понадобиться финансовая поддержка, указать это в соответствующей графе в заявке. Финансовое положение ни в коем случае не должно влиять на решение подать заявку ша ШМТБ, и мы сделаем всё возможное для того, чтобы обеспечить участие всех принятых школьников.


Программа школы

 

Есть ли на Школе свободное время?

Основное время на Школе занимают занятия и работа в лабораториях. У всех школьников есть свободное время после ужина, когда можно посетить вечерние студии, или просто отдохнуть. Кроме того, после запуска лабораторных дней есть один нерабочий день.


Какие лаборатории будут на Школе?

Лаборатории, представленные на Школе, меняются из года в год. В связи с изменениями в поддержке ШМТБ, произошедшими за прошлый год, мы работаем над созданием лабораторий позже обычного. Вероятнее всего, на ШМТБ 2016 будет порядка 10 разных лабораторий, как экспериментальных, так и вычислительных.


Каким образом можно выбрать лабораторию?

Школьники выбирают, в какую лабораторию им больше хочется попасть на самой школе. На Школе практикуется система осведомлённого выбора, когда школьники заполняют заявку на работу в лабораториях, которые им понравились после пробного опыта работы. На протяжении первых двух-трёх дней, школьники могут посетить некоторые из лабораторий ШМТБ, чтобы иметь возможность пообщаться с сотрудниками о планируемой работе в лаборатории более подробно. На всех этапах этого процесса школьники пользуются поддержкой советника, которые при необходимости индивидуально консультируют из о различных аспектах работы в лабораториях.


Безопасность

 

Насколько безопасно участие на Школе?

На ШМТБ работают опытные сотрудники, вожатые и организаторы, которые обеспечивают комфортное и безопасное участие всех школьников. Школьники распределены по командам в 8-10 человек, под руководством 2-3 опытных вожатых. В лаборатории работают действующие учёные, которые следят за исполнением всех правил техники безопасности при лабораторной работе. В целом, в Школе участвует примерно одинаковое количество школьников и взрослых сотрудников, в том числе, вожатые, аккредитованные правительством региона Каталония для организации летних учебных лагерей. Барселона - один из самых безопасных мегаполисов мира, с чрезвычайно низким уровнем насильственных преступлений. Единственной потенциальной опасностью является возможность карманных краж, которые происходят часто из-за огромного потока обеспеченных туристов. Мы советуем школьникам не носить с собой большие суммы денег или документы. Мы предпочитаем, чтобы школьники сдавали документы на хранение в дирекцию ШМТБ.


Встретят ли моего ребёнка в Москве?

Да, сотрудники Школы встретят всех приезжающих школьников в Москве в аэропорту, на вокзале, или в другом указанном месте прибытия.


Кто будет следить за ребёнком во время Школы?

На Школе участвует примерно одинаковое количество взрослых сотрудников и школьников. Благодаря такому соотношению, школьники практически никогда не находятся без взрослых сотрудников. Особое внимание уделяется технике безопасности при работе в лаборатории и соблюдению правил поведения. Школьники и большинство сотрудников Школы, в том числе вожатые, проживают в одном здании, которое находится под охраной сотрудников общежития.


С кем можно связаться по всем вопросам о Школе?

Мы просим по любым вопросам обращаться к нам по емаилу на molbioschool@gmail.com, в случае срочных вопросов мы просим звонить научному директору Федору Кондрашову на +34-618-164-237.


В каких условиях происходит проживание на Школе?

Проживание будет организовано в одном из общежитий университета UPF, совместно с вожатыми и большинством сотрудников Школы.


Каковы условия питания?

Питание на Школе организованно через одну из столовых Университета Помпеу Фабра. Дополнительно к основному питанию, школьники имеют доступ к свежим фруктам и другим продуктам.


Где будет проходить учеба?

ШМТБ будет проходить на территории Биомедицинского исследовательского парка Барселоны (PRRB, www.prbb.org), института Центр геномной регуляции (CRG, www.crg.es) и Университета Помпеу Фабра (UPF, www.upf.edu).


Есть ли возможность поговорить с ребёнком?

Мы просим родителей не отрывать лишний раз школьников от учебного процесса. Как правило, у школьников есть свободное время вечером, которое можно использовать, чтобы поговорить по Скайпу. В ситуации, когда необходимо связаться со школьником в экстренном порядке, мы просим позвонить научному директору Федору Кондрашову на +34-618-164-237.


Организационные вопросы

 

Как мне сделать визу для приезда на Школу?

Для того, чтобы получить визу в Испанию, так называемую Шенгенскую визу, Вам нужно иметь на руках загранпаспорт, сроком действия как минимум до марта 2017 года. Наличие или отсутствие загранпаспорта и визы на момент подачи заявки никак не влияет на отбор участников. Необходимые документы для получении визы мы пришлём всем школьникам, прошедшим отбор на ШМТБ 2016 года. Если же у Вас уже есть Шенгенская виза, пожалуйста, убедитесь, что срок её действия заканчивается не позже чем 31 августа 2016 года.


Какие документы нужны для приезда на Школу?

Точный перечень документов, необходимый для участия в ШМТБ 2016, мы пришлём на почту всем школьникам, прошедшим отбор. Эти документы затрагивают вопросы официального зачисления на ШМТБ, вопросы, связанные со здоровьем школьника, и вопросы, связанные с получением визы и пересечения границы РФ и Евросоюза.


Что взять с собой на Школу?

Перечень вещей, которые необходимо взять с собой на Школу будет дополнительно выслан каждому из участников.